Members of the Advisory Board offer their expertise and insight to inform GovernUp’s work. They have no responsibility for the project’s governance, nor do they necessarily endorse the proposals of GovernUp, its research projects or discussion papers.

The Rt Hon Nick Herbert CBE MP
Co-Chairman (Conservative MP for Arundel & South Downs since 2005; Minister for Policing & Criminal Justice, 2010-2012)

The Rt Hon Dame Margaret Hodge DBE MP
Co-Chairman (Labour MP for Barking since 1994; Chairman of the Public Accounts Committee 2010-2015; successively a Minister for the Disabled, Children, Work, and Culture & Tourism, 1998-2010) 

MEMBERS 2014-2016

Sir Michael Barber
(Founder and Chairman of Delivery Associates; formerly Chief Adviser on Delivery to the Prime Minister, Tony Blair, 2001-2005)

Lord (Michael) Bichard KCB
(Crossbench Peer; Permanent Secretary, Department for Education and Employment, 1995-2001; Director, Institute for Government, 2008-2010) 

Lord (John) Birt
(Director-General, BBC, 1992-2000; Strategy Adviser to the Prime Minister, Tony Blair, 2001-2005) 

Dan Corry
(Chief Executive, New Philanthropy Capital; Head of the Number 10 Policy Unit and Senior Adviser to the Prime Minister, Gordon Brown, 2007-2010)

Katharine Davidson OBE
(Group Head of Strategy at the Olayan Group; formerly Executive Director, Strategy and Management Information, Cabinet Office, 2010-2014) 

Janan Ganesh
(Columnist, Financial Times)

The Rt Hon John Healey MP
(Labour MP for Wentworth & Dearne since 1997; Shadow Minister for Housing, successively a Treasury, Local Government and Housing Minister, 2002-2010. Co-Chairman of GovernUp 2014-2016) 

Sir Julian Horn-Smith
(Group Chief Operating Officer, Vodafone plc, 2001-2005) 

Professor Andrew Kakabadse
(Professor of Governance and Leadership, Henley Business School, University of Reading; Emeritus Professor, Cranfield University School of Management) 

Paul Kirby CB
(Co-Founder and CEO of Zinc VC; formerly Director of Reform Strategy, Cabinet Office, 2002-2004; Head of the Number 10 Policy Unit for the Prime Minister, David Cameron, 2011-2013)

Baroness (Martha) Lane-Fox of Soho CBE
(Crossbench Peer; Founder,; UK Digital Champion, 2010-2013, Founder and Executive Chair of doteveryone)

Jim Leng
(Deputy Chairman and Senior Independent Director of the RHI Magnesita N.V, formerly Lead Non-Executive Director, Ministry of Justice, 2010-2012; Chairman, Corus Group plc, 2001-2009)

Archie Norman
(Chairman of Marks & Spencer plc; Lead Non-Executive Director, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy 2016 - ; Chairman, ITV, 2010-2016; Chief Executive, then Chairman, ASDA, 1991-2000; Conservative MP for Tunbridge Wells, 1997-2005) 

Lord (Tim) Razzall
(Liberal Democrat Peer; Chairman, Liberal Democrats' Campaigns and Communications Committee, 2000-2006)

Tom Riordan
(Chief Executive, Leeds City Council)

MEMBERS 2014-2015

Lord (John) Browne of Madingley
(Crossbench Peer; Government’s lead Non-Executive Director, 2010-2015; Chief Executive, BP, 1995-2007)

Camilla Cavendish
(Former Head of the Number Ten Policy Unit (2015-2016); Associate Editor, The Sunday Times until 2015)